The Kenneth Hudson Award honours the spirit of the founder of EMYA, and goes to a museum, person, project or a group of people who have demonstrated the most unusual, daring and, perhaps, controversial achievement that challenges common perceptions of the role and responsibility of museums in society. The winner is chosen by the EMF Board of Trustees, and is not necessarily selected from the pool of the EMYA candidates.

Visual and acoustic voices in four languages at the beginning of the museum’s main exhibition © House of Austrian History 

Museum Architecture © CosmoCaixa


2021: CosmoCaixa
Barcelona, Spain

2020: House of Austrian History
Vienna, Austria

2019: World Museum Vienna
Vienna, Austria

2018: Estonian National Museum
Tartu, Estonia

2017: Museum of the First President of Russia Boris Yeltsin
Yekaterinburg, Russia

2016: Micropia
Amsterdam, Netherlands

2015: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Museum
Geneva, Switzerland

2014: Zanis Lipke Memorial
Riga, Latvia

2013: Batalha Municipal Community Museum
Batalha, Portugal

2012: Glasnevin Museum
Dublin, Ireland

2011: Museum of Broken Relationships
Zagreb, Croatia

2010: Museum of Contraception and Abortion
Vienna, Austria

Kenneth Hudson